The Amazing Spider-Man 2

image

Better than its predecessor in every way, Spider-Man’s latest big screen outing manages to charm and entertain in spite of some rather awkward storytelling.

I’ve gotta say, this Amazing version of Spider-Man, as portrayed by the absolutely adorable Andrew Garfield IS my Spider-Man. He quips, moves and fights exactly how I always imagined when I read Spider-Man back in the 90s. I had a big fat grin on my face as he flipped and spun, all the while talking smack to one of the three villains he faces in the film.

Yes, there are multiple villains this time, and yes, like in Spider-Man 3, their screen time is often limited until they’re required to take part in a big action set piece. But when those set pieces happen, the different adversaries make sure each fight is different enough to be refreshing and genuinely exciting. I did have to keep reminding myself that there are still multiple films to be released in this series, and there’s hopefully more time to flesh out these new and re-imagined villains at a later date.

Once again, it’s the relationship between Peter Parker and Gwen Stacey that demands a lot of screen time, and, once again, they’re so freaking cute together. Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone really nail it, and their playfulness constantly entertained me.

Most definitely a part of a story, but managing to be satisfying as a standalone film, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 earned two viewings within 12 hours from me, and I enjoyed it both times. I was starting to suffer from comic book movie burn out, but this film was refreshing, maybe due to it not having to slide into an existing cinematic universe ala Marvel’s in house films, but more likely due to it being genuinely fun, exciting and having a young leading couple who mesh so beautifully.

STRONG RECOMMEND

About greywulf

Head Blogger and Editor at justbeyondinfinity on wordpress

Leave a Reply

